knowing and Knowing

Growing up in a rural village in N.Ireland it was common that ministers who came to town as a guest preacher used a particular phrase (they obviously assumed we’d never heard before and they obviously thought would waow us). The phrase was this…”you may know much about someone but that’s not the same as knowing them” for example they’d say…”I could tell you many things about Ryan Gigs (evidence of cultural connection) but I don’t know him. And in the same way you may know much about God without knowing him. 

But I was thinking about this phrase the other day and it occurred to me that when you do know someone the opposite is true. In-other-words, the more I know about my husband the more I know him. My intellectual knowing of him feeds my (experiential?) knowing. In this case knowing about someone is inextricable from knowing them.

Knowing about God helps us to know him more.  We need to never stop knowing with our minds.  

Thinking about this has also now made me suspicious of the origional premise. If one kind of knowing leads to the other in one case then I’m pretty sure it must do so in all cases… 

Perhaps knowing about someone doesn’t make you any more likely to meet them but if you did meet them you’d certainly know them better than if you met them without knowing anything about them.  

…yes that’s right. 

wha?

 

 

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

2 Comments on “knowing and Knowing”


  1. Only problem would be if the knowledge garnered about someone wasn’t trustworthy. So for example: I know a lot about Ryan Giggs but very little of it is reliable. So now we know that the two kinds of knowing is just one, we have to examine where we get the things we know… right?

  2. canalways Says:

    it’s also true sometimes that the more you know someone the less it feels like you know them…sort of like you find out your other half likes something random and you say to yourself ‘Really?I didn’t know that about you…who are you?’


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

