Derek Webb on The Church

Transfarmer readers (all 2 of them) have gotten me thinking a lot about the church the past couple of days and then as I was cruisin’ in the Volvo and this song by the wonderful Derek Webb came on and I thought, yip that’s about right.

Enjoy…

The Church
(Appears on: She Must and Shall Go Free)

I have come with one purpose
To capture for Myself a bride
By My life she is lovely
And by My death she’s justified

I have always been her husband
Though many lovers she has known
So with water I will wash her
And by My word alone

So when you hear the sound of the water
You will know you’re not alone

‘Cause I haven’t come for only you
But for My people to pursue
And you cannot care for Me with no regard for her
If you love Me you will love the church

I have long pursued her
As a harlot and a whore
But she will feast upon Me
She will drink and thirst no more

So when you taste My flesh and My blood
You will know you’re not alone

There is none that can replace her
There are many who will try
And though some may be her Bridesmaids
They can never be My bride

“Derek on the song:

This is one of the last songs I wrote for the record…the reason I wrote it was because people were coming up to me (after shows) and saying, “Yeah, I’m right with you man…this whole church thing’s (not for me). I can’t stand the church…”, And I hated that. I hated the idea that people who seek to church bash would see me as their champion. Because I am not that. The reason that I have, after all these years, decided to put my energy into a solo project…is because of my love for the church. There’s none that can replace her. There’s none that can do the job of the church…so I wrote this song to hopefully communicate that.”
—Derek Webb, 10/4/02

Explore posts in the same categories: Uncategorized

One Comment on “Derek Webb on The Church”

  1. the sayer Says:

    Amen!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

